Education Resources


Featured Databases

  • ERIC (from Ovid)
    The most important research tool in the field of education. Since 1966 ERIC has been indexing and abstracting over 600 journals with full text for some journals since 1993 and for most since 1997. Look for the links to locate other online and print copies. Full text of older ERIC documents (non journal material) are also available on microfiche on 2nd floor of HSSE Library. Besides journal articles ERIC also includes research reports, conference papers, curriculum guides and publications of organizations and associations. Unfortunately indexing is several months behind, so for more current articles, use Education Full-text.

  • Wilson Education Full-text
    Indexes and abstracts English language books and over 600 journals, including about 89 journals that are not indexed in ERIC. Indexing starts with 1983, abstracting in 1994, and selected full-text from 350 journals since 1996. Look for the links to locate online and print copies. Very up-to-date so articles appear here soon after they are published.

  • Professional Development Collection
    Includes full-text articles for over 500 professional development journals and over 200 educational reports, and indexing and abstracting for approximately 700 journals since 1965. . Examples of titles Curriculum Administrator, Education Digest, Educational Leadership, Educational Research, Journal of Learning Disabilities, Phi Delta Kappan, and Reading Teacher.

Other Relevant Databases

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database:Contains over 300,000 catalog records of books for children and young adults, with full reviews for over 300,000 of these titles.

Digital Dissertations: Citations ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Abstracts are available for dissertations and theses published since 1980. Full text is available for dissertations from CIC institutions from 1997 forward.

Mental Measurements Yearbook: Contains information and critical reviews of new and revised tests from the Buros Institute's 9th, 10th, 11th, 12th, 13th and 14th Yearbooks. The database covers more than 2,000 commercially-available educational, personality, aptitude, neuropsychological, achievement and intelligence tests.

PsycINFO: The major index and abstracting database in psychology including educational psychology. Includes full-text articles from 52 journals published by the American Psychological Association. Coverage starts in 1805, is worldwide in scope, and includes references and abstracts to dissertations and books.

PsycCritiques Full-text reviews of books and some popular films, videos, and software with content relevant to psychology since 1995.

Tests in Print a bibliography of all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. Provides test purpose, in-print status, price, intended test population, and guides readers to test reviews in Mental Measurements Yearbook series. Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements.



Databases for materials appropriate for school aged children:

MAS FullText Ultra - School Edition: (for high school students)

Middle Search Plus: (for middle and high school students)

Primary Search: (for elementary students)



20 Most Frequently Used Education Journals at HSSE




Other Purdue Resources

Technology Resources Center (TRC)
in room 3287 in Beering Hall has a collection of current textbooks adopted by Indiana school, children's books, and other resources for students in the College of Education. Hours are Monday-Friday, 8 a.m. - 4 p.m.

Selected Web Sites


Children's Literature

CLRC/Kerlan and Hess Collections: Children's Literature Research Collections.

Children's Literature Web Guide (CLWG)

International Children's Digital Library: Collection of fulltext children's books from around the world.

Government Resources

ACCESS Indiana.

Education at a Glance from OECD look in the left panel for "Books on Education Books."

Education Law Reference Guide: Provides coverage on researching federal and state education law and policy using government information resources.

Education Resource Organizations Directory (EROD)

Eurybase: The Information Network on Education in Europe. Produced by the European community. Describes education systems and policies across the EU.

FREE: Federal Resources for Educational Excellence.

Higher Education

American College Personnel Association

American Council on Education

Association of American Colleges and Universities

National Center for the Study of Adult Learning and LiteracyCollege and University Rankings

Learning Disabilites

LD Online: Learning more about Learning Disabilities.

School Psychology Resources Online

Professional Literature

Education Journals: An annotated database for K-12 and teacher educators.

Education-Line: Database of conference papers, working papers, etc. which supports educational research, policy and practice.

Educator's Reference Desk

EdResearch Online: Database of article from Australian education journals.

Electronic Journals in the Field of Education: Peer-reviewed full text ejournals available free on the web.

Professional Resources

Blue Web: A library of Blue Ribbon learning sites on the Web.

Child Care & Early Education Research Connections: Produced by the National Center for Children in Poverty at Columbia University.

ENC Online: Produced by Eisenhower National Clearinghouse for Mathematics and Science Education, identifies curriculum resources and professional development materials to improve K-12 mathematics and science learning and teaching.

Lesson Plan Websites: Maintained by Arthur Tannenbaum at New York University.

National Center for Early Development & Learning

Scholarly Societies and Associations

American Educational Research Association AERA

The American Literacy Council

American School Counselor Association

National Association of School Psychologists

Standards

Content Knowledge: A compilation of content standards for K-12 curriculum

Developing Educational Standards


Statistics

National Statistics

National Center for Education Statistics (NCES): This unit of the U.S. Department of Education provides full-text Web access to many of their major statistical reports on education in the United States.

International Statistics

Eurostat:Under the Population and Social Conditions Theme tab is a searchable database of Education and Training statistics from the European Union, the United States, and Japan.

UNESCO Institute for Statistics: Education is identified as a core theme on this United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization site. Statistics related to Access and Participation, Efficiency, Resources, Literacy and Attainment, and Education System characteristics are available from over 200 countries.

World Bank EdStats: "The World Bank's comprehensive Database of education statistics." Report feature allows users to compile unique statistical reports for countries, country groups and education indicators.

Meet your librarian

Your librarian is Judy M. Nixon. Contact her with any questions or requests.

Contact